Fast, fresh, healthy – roasted cauliflower and tahini salad, and quinoa salad with kale and artichokes

Day two of our quest to eat only vegetarian for the first week of April was a success (since we resorted to adding some chicken broth to our Lemony-Lentil and Cilantro Soup on day 1). I had an elaborate plan for the week, but getting a nasty cold derailed all of that.  Instead we filled up on two delightful and well-rounded salads, one which I cannot take any credit for and one which I tossed together from the depleted remains of my end of the month refrigerator.

Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpea Salad with Tahini

 

Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpea Salad with Tahini
Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpea Salad with Tahini

I love this creation from my current blogger crush Northwest Edible Life. I love it so much that I’ve made it twice in the past 30 days. I love Northwest Edible Life so much that I am not going to post the recipe on my blog, instead you can go check it out here. I used capers instead of italian parsley because I didn’t have any on hand and I omitted the orange in favor or more lemon.

Quinoa Salad with Kale and Artichokes

Quinoa is a great way to get calories and protein
Quinoa is a great way to get calories and protein

I made up a big, plain batch of quinoa on day 1 of vegetarian week and it was a relief to have it on hand, a blank canvas, when I was in a rush to make dinner. The artichokes and tomatoes add some sweetness and the kale a nice satisfying crunch. Because we are still suffering from a nasty cold I made it extra garlicky (to keep the vampires away).

Ingredients
1 cup dry quinoa
2 cups water
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 roma tomatoes, diced
1 cup of tuscan kale, washed, removed from stems, and chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped fine
6 water-packed artichoke hearts, chopped
2 tablespoons lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste

Method
Combine quinoa and water in a pot, cover with a tight-fitting lid, and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and let cook for about 10 minutes, or until the quinoa absorbs the water. Fluff with a fork and let the quinoa sit, uncovered for 5 minutes. Toss the olive oil with the qionoa until fully incorporated, then chill until completely cool.  Add the garlic and lemon juice and stir to incorporate. Fold in tomatoes, kale, artichoke hearts, and salt and pepper.  Can be kept refrigerated in a covered container for several days. This is also lovely when mixed into a green salad.

 

Leave a Reply

