Norwegian love tarts

Heart-shaped tarts
They aren’t pretty to look at, but they tasted mighty fine!

“Do you need me to pick anything up at the grocery store?” I asked Huzzybee the other night.
“Fish,” was his response  “and potatoes,” he added but quickly followed with “just kidding”. Then he hung his head and sighed.

He knows I dislike potatoes.  They’re ok, I guess, but they taste rather bland, and honestly they take up precious space in my tummy for much tastier things, like cheese and a steak and anything covered in chocolate.  I feel the same way about bread, hamburger buns, and tortilla chips.  Fish and potatoes, however, are sacred to Huzzybee and so I could tell he was feeling like he needed some love if he was asking for his favorite comfort food.  He works very hard and is a loyal husband and a fantastic father, so I decided to show him affection in a way that would warm the cockles of his Norwegian heart…er, stomach.

They don’t look pretty, but these did the trick, and although he translated the name into Norwegian for me I think “Norwegian Love Tart” sounds a lot less silly.

Ingredients:

1/4 pound of fresh salmon (cod would probably do as well)

1/4 cup of cream cheese

2 medium-sized potatoes

Fresh dill, minced

1 or 2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 egg yolk

2 tablespoons milk

Pie dough of your own recipe

Method (this is all rather approximate, FYI):

Make the dough about an hour ahead of time.  I will not tell you how to make pie dough because I am a completely failure when it comes to anything involving a rolling pin.  While making dough last night I spilled the ice water all over my computer, added twice as much butter as I was supposed to, spilled the egg mixture that I had made as glaze, and accidentally dropped flour all over Søren’s head.  The dough stuck to my rolling pin and I turned the air blue with profanity.    So make your own damned dough!  When the dough is ready put it in the fridge to stay cool.

Wash, peel, and dice the potatoes.  Place them in boiling water until they are soft.  Drain and set aside to cool.  While the potatoes are boiling, preheat your oven to 350 degrees and place the salmon on a foil-lined baking sheet.  Bake until it is cooked all the way through (normally my Seattleite sensibilities would scream No!  Don’t cook salmon all the way through! but this is important for this recipe).  Remove from the oven and set aside to cool.

When the salmon has cooled reasonably, flake it from the skin with a fork and carefully remove any bones.  In a food processor, pulse the salmon, cream cheese, dill, garlic, and a little salt until a smooth paté is achieved.  Matronly Note: you probably want to taste it to make sure it is of the utmost quality…spread it on crackers or on celery and try not to eat it all!  Cut the boiled potatoes into 1/4 inch pieces. Scrape the paté into a mixing bowl, add the potatoes and mix together with a wooden spoon.  I have you mix the potatoes by hand because they tend to create a really sticky, gooey texture in the food processor.

Pocket pie
Pocket pie mold from Williams-Sonoma

Roll out your dough and use about three heaping tablespoons of filling per tart.  I used the sweet little heart-shaped pocket pie mold that I got years ago from Williams-Sonoma, but you can also fill and long portion of dough and roll it up into a salmon log if you wish.  This recipe makes about 6 filled tarts, approximately 4 inches across.  Whisk the egg yolk and milk together and brush the mixture onto the tarts to give them a pretty glaze.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until the dough is cooked.

Freya's Gold
Our Viking brew of choice

Huzzybee preferred to wash his Norwegian Love Tart down with a cold, frothy pint of Freya’s Gold by Odin Brewery, from a pewter chalice that has a carved relief of spear-armed Vikings running around and sailing on boats. Whatever floats his Knarr, I guess.

Skol!

Leave a Reply

