Cinnamon french toast with fig-maple goat cheese

Breakfast Nirvana - cinnamon french toast with fig-maple goat cheese
Breakfast Nirvana – cinnamon french toast with fig-maple goat cheese

My husband and I found ourselves staring at the leftover remnants of some fig goat cheese last night, discussing what to do with it, and it occurred to me that if I had it on french toast I could probably achieve spiritual enlightenment.  This morning I whipped it up with a little maple syrup, made a batch of simple cinnamon french toast and voila! Out of body brunch experience.

I have a weakness for tangy soft cheeses on top of breakfast carbohydrates.  The sour cream and blueberries on top of Swedish pancakes that I tried two weeks ago nearly made me fall out of my chair, and I’ve always been very fond of cottage cheese and tomatoes on toast (oh, it’s not as bad as it sounds!)

Take the cheese out of the fridge when you start making your French toast so that it will be at room temperature by the time you serve (this will help it melt a little faster and become spreadable).  Some other possible mix-ins for the goat cheese are honey and cinnamon, almonds, orange marmalade…go crazy!

Leave a Reply

