There will be no toys in Babeland this year

Merry Christmas, kid...
Merry Christmas, kid…

So, what are you supposed to give an 8-month old for Christmas?  As Grinchy as this is going to sound, Huzzybee and I decided to just give him empty boxes. Brightly wrapped, but empty.

Ok, ok. we bought him one little wooden toy truck, and after I make his stocking I’ll fill it with some necessities, like socks that actually fit his enormous feet, but he doesn’t need anything else.  After watching him chase a paper shopping bag in his walker the other day, discard its contents, and then play with the bag for 20 minutes, I felt that our decision is not cruel but actually in his best interest.  This kid loves paper, and the great Pacific garbage patch is full of enough bits of discarded kids crap already.  I’ve been saving Amazon.com shipping boxes, I bought some shiny wrapping paper, and soon the Christmas tree will be banked with presents bearing the name of Søren, full of empty space and cheer.

Author’s note: Yes, I know that “Toys in Babeland”, which sounds similar to the bizarre 1960s Disney fantasy “Babes in Toyland”, is also the name of a sex shop in Seattle.  No, there is absolutely no correlation between the movie, the shop, or my post, other than the fact that I needed a catchy title for this post.

Leave a Reply

